Cranberry Harvest Granola Bars

IMG_0209

These are so delicious and chewy! I saw some granola bars which are non-baked, but the nuts and oats are toasted separately. I don’t like doing all those steps, so I just baked the granola bars after mixing all the raw ingredients. Way easier.
IMG_0216


IMG_0188

The basic recipe for this is just dates, oats, coconut oil and bananas. Then you can add whatever you like, such as cranberries, walnuts, almonds, pistachios, chocolate chips…
IMG_0199

This is very simple to make. I’m really not joking. I just mixed the mashed banana with the dates (pulsed in a food processor so it turns into a paste), coconut oil and oats. And I added cranberries, walnuts and almonds. Using a tip from a lot of granola bar recipes, I pressed the granola really firmly into a parchment lined 9 x 5 inch baking pan so it won’t be all crumbly afterwards.
IMG_0200

I baked it for 35-40 minutes at 135 °C (275 °F). To cut it into bars, I cut the lines right after it came out of the oven, but I left the granola bars in the pan for 2 to 3 hours before cutting again on the lines and removing to eat.
IMG_0214

The only real hiccup I had with this recipe is my food processor! I really need to get a new one because mine does not chop anything at all. When I was pulsing the dates into a paste, I had to soak the chopped dates in 2 tbsp. of water before pulsing, because if not, my food processor will pretty much spin the blade around and move the dates around, but without actually cutting it.
IMG_0221

Cranberry Harvest Granola Bars

  • Servings: 14 bars
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
1 cup chopped pitted dates, soaked in 2 tbsp. water
2  1/4 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup (52 g) coconut oil, melted
1 bananas, mashed
1/2 cup cranberries
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
1/4 cup almonds, chopped

 Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 °C (350 °F). Line a 9 x 5 inch baking pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a food processor, pulse the dates (that were soaked in water) until it looks like a paste.
  3. Mix the date paste with all the rest of the ingredients in a medium bowl. The mixture should stick together a bit, if not, add an other mashed banana or more coconut oil.
  4. Transfer the granola into the pan. Use the back of a spoon to firmly press down the granola to make it very compact. Lower the oven temperature to 135 °C (275 °F) and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until lightly brown. Take out of the oven to cool down for a few minutes.
  5. Using a bread knife, cut the shape of the granola bars and let it rest for 2 to 3 hours. Then cut the lines you made before and take out the granola bars. Can keep in a covered container for 5 days.

Leave a comment