Healthy Light Lemon Bars

Healthy Light Lemon Bars

Healthy Light Lemon Bars

Yummy. That’s one word to describe it. I would also like to add light, healthy, delicious, sweet, and smooth. Too many words? Yeah, probably, but ah, who cares? I need to describe these bars the best I can!
Healthy Light Lemon Bars

I’ve been on quite a lemon streak, but they are so good in everything, such as the Lemon Blueberry Chia Seed Pudding I made last week, that I can’t seem to stop using them! The crust in these lemon bars was, by the way, perfect! I usually end up with a crumbly crust that can never seem to stay put before I manage to stick the bar into my mouth, but this crust was a bit more doughy when I baked it, so that’s why it didn’t disintegrate to the touch! These lemon bars were perfect to bring to a BBQ on the beach with friends as we had no table, therefore eating was very messy. And no one even noticed they were supposed to be healthy until I told them.
Healthy Light Lemon Bars

Make them. Now. I can guarantee you that it will be an awesome day if you do.

Healthy Light Lemon Bars

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Light, creamy and a very tangy taste of lemons in a bar. It’s also way healthier than normal lemon bars but tastes the same!
Ingredients:
Crust:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cane sugar
2 tbsp. (43 g) honey
2 tbsp. Greek yogurt
1 tbsp. lemon zest
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
6 tbsp. (61 g) coconut oil, solid (or butter at room temperature)
Lemon Filling:
4 eggs
1/2 cup cane sugar
1 cup lemon juice
2 tbsp. Greek yogurt

Instructions:

  1. Line a 9×6-inch baking pan (9×9 or 8×8 also works) with parchment paper. Preheat oven to 175 °C (350 °F).
  2. Crust: In a stand mixer, or by hand, mix all the crust ingredients until it comes together and almost forms a dough. It should be between the crumbly and dough state. Press the mixture onto the bottom of the prepared pan and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until lightly brown and not wet. Remove and cool.
  3. Lemon Filling: While the crust in baking, whisk the eggs in a medium bowl, then add in the cane sugar, lemon juice and Greek yogurt until well combined and frothy. Pour the liquid mixture into the pan, over the crust, and wait until froth is gone before baking for 20 minutes. The filling should not jiggle. Cool completely before using a sharp knife to cut into bars. I didn’t slide my knife when cutting, but just pressed down to cut. Refrigerate for an hour before eating.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Light Lemon Bars

Leave a comment