Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

On Saturday, my brother had a soccer game that was pretty far away from home, which meant I was home alone for the entire day. Which also meant that I had to make dinner. My mom requested soup, so I had to look in the fridge and there were not a lot of vegetables. Just a few stalks of celery, carrots, and bell peppers.

And that is how this soup came to be.
Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

Considering that I only added water (chicken stock, to me, always seems so unhealthy for some reason) and spices, the result was so creamy, I was shocked! And then adding a swirl of yogurt and a few chunks of apple made it irresistible.

(Btw, it’s the easiest soup ever. Only 1 hour in total, and 45 minutes of that is just waiting for it to cook in the pot.)
Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

The best soup I have ever made. (Well, I think this is the second soup I’ve made in my entire life, but still!)
Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

A super simple soup with lots of flavour from the variety of vegetables. Although celery doesn’t have much taste, it’s helped out with the carrots, bell pepper and spices.
Ingredients:
1 onion, diced
2 cups celery, chopped (about 5 celery stalks)
1 bell pepper, diced (save a few pieces for garnish)
1  1/2 cups carrots, peeled and chopped (I used 3 large carrots)
4 cups water
2 tsp. salt and pepper
1 1/2 tsp. thyme
2 tsp. dried oregano

Instructions:

  1. In a large pot over medium heat, heat a tablespoon of oil and add the diced onion, celery and bell pepper. Cook for 10 minutes, stirring ever so often, until tender. Add the carrots and stir for a few more minutes.
  2. Pour the water into the pot, followed by the salt and pepper, thyme, and dried oregano. Taste the soup to see if it needs any adjustments regarding spices. Bring to a boil before lowering heat. Cover and cook for 45 minutes at a simmer.
  3. Serve hot with a drizzle of yogurt (milk or heavy cream works too), chopped apples and a bit of diced bell pepper. Even add a slice of bread if it pleases you.

One thought on “Creamy Celery and Carrot Soup

Leave a comment